This page serves as a resource for the 2019 General Election of the University of Regina Students’ Union (URSU). This page includes most of the information you need to run or vote in an election. If you have any questions or experience difficulties voting please contact the Chief Returning Officer by emailing

The purpose of this election is to fill all representative positions of the University of Regina Students’ Union Executive Committee and Board of Directors, as well as, Senate, University Council, and Executive of Council.



All candidates listed below are running in the 2019 URSU General Election, any student whose name does not appear has been deemed ineligible for this election. Voting begins March 18th at  9 am and ends March 19th at 11:59 pm. Here are your candidates, click on their name to read their bio and platform:



Davinderpal Deol

Victor Adeolu Oriola

Keone James Rohatensky

Harpreet Singh

Vice President External Affairs

Harman Deol

Hamza Sheikh

Karminder Singh

Vice President Operations and Finance

Dakota Kaufman

Muhammad Usman Khan

Manvinderjit Singh

Vice President Student Affairs

Ammad Maken

Ajit Singh

Harmeet Singh



Faculty of Arts                                                           

Alfred Adenuga

Gurkirat Singh Uppal

Faculty of Business Administration                           

Amit Kumar Bansal

Campion College 

Harkaran Singh Rai                                          

Continuing Education                                               

Davinder Singh

Faculty of Education                                                 

Rylan Jensen

Faculty of Engineering                                              

Pranav Mukesh

Tanaya Sharma

Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research              


Kishore Kumar Reddy Bommvaram

Venkata Sai Kumar Pulimi

Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies               A

Barzany Ridha

Faculty of Media, Art, and Performance                   

Manjot Singh

Faculty of Nursing                                                     

Mark Matthies

Faculty of Science                                                    

Yeasin Arafat

Arshdeep Singh Simk

Faculty of Social Work                                              

First Nations University of Canada                          

Timothy Merasty

La Cité  


Luther College 



Equity and Campaigns                                             

Jacq Brasseur

Sukhveer Garcha

Indigenous Students                                                 

International Students                                               

Harshdeep Singh Binner

Yadwinder Singh Deol

Adekoya Oluwanifomo

LGBTQ Students      

Part Time Students                                                   

Jagmandeep Tejay

Students with Disabilities

Sukhmandeep Kaur

Katlyn Richardson

Gurpreet Singh                                          

Women Students              

Simran Simran

Amandeep Kaur


Six positions available

Alfred Adenuga

Adeoluwa Adebanji

Amit Kumar Bansal

Rylan Jensen

Dakota Kaufman

Jashneet Kaur

Danyka Maurer

Pranav Mukesh

Victor Adeolu Oriola

Venkata Sai Kumar Pulimi

Colin Scheidt

Mohammad Sheikh

Harpreet Singh

Karminder Singh

Harshdeep Singh

Harmeet Singh

Ajit Singh

Victor Adeolu Oriola

Mason Van Luven


Arts – 8 seats available

Adeoluwa Adebanji

Alfred Adenuga

Moklesur Rahman

Social Work – 5 seats available

Amit Kumar Bansal

Continuing Education – 1 seat available

Graduate – 9 seats available



One position available per faculty.

Faculty of Arts – Mason Van Luven

Faculty of Business Administration – Amit Kumar Bansal

Faculty of Engineering – Muhammad Khan

Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies – Barzany Ridha

Faculty of Media Arts and Performance – Katlyn Richardson

Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research – Kishore Kumar Reddy Bommvaram


Isaac Tamlin

Saadia Burki

Chiara Wolfe

Ariana Bourgeois


This is the tentative schedule of events and deadlines for the 2019 URSU General Election. Please note:

  • The All Candidates’ URSU Q&A and the All Candidates’ Meeting are for those who are nominated and become candidates.
  • The All Candidates’ Forum is for all candidates and for any student who wishes to ask a candidate a question or hear a candidate’s platform.

Notice of Election                                                                             February 4

Election Period                                                            February 11 – March 19

Nomination Period                                                              February 11 – 27

Nomination Package Due:                                      February 27 @ 4:00 pm

(Drop off at: URSU Members Services Desk, Riddell Centre Room 221

3737 Wascana Parkway, Regina, SK Attn: Chief Returning Officer)

Candidate Profiles Due:                                              February 27 @ 4:00 pm

Candidate’s Q & A with URSU Exec and Staff DROP IN AT WILL at URSU OFFICES

All Candidates Meeting with CRO                           February 28 @ 5:00 pm,                                                                                                         URSU Boardroom

Candidate Photo Shoot                                February 28, URSU Boardroom                                                                                  After All Candidates’ Meeting

Campaign Period                                           Begins: March 4 @ 12:00 am                                                                                     Ends: March 17 @ 11:59 pm

Guidelines & Policies


Students will only be able to vote for positions in the constituencies that apply to them. All students will still have the chance to vote for executive positions, and a few other general positions. For example:

  • If you are a Fine Arts student, vote for the Fine Arts Director
  • If you are a Campion student in the Faculty of Arts, vote for the Campion Director AND the Arts Director.
  • If you are a Graduate student through Campion College in the Faculty of Arts, vote for the Grad Director, Campion Director, AND Faculty of Arts Director.

The questions on the ballot will say who is eligible to vote for the question. If you vote for a candidate in a constituency that you DO NOT belong to, your vote for this position will be removed from the final count. Only your votes for constituencies that you DO belong to will still remain valid.

Students vote through UR Self-Service.

  1. Login using your Student ID # and PIN.
  2. Under the Student Services headline, there will be a link to the ballot.
  3. Fill in ALL the answers to the Ballot questions (that you are eligible for).
  4. Click “Survey Complete” to submit your ballot.

Additional Documents

Conflict of Interest Disclosure – Shafeeka Sayyid

Previous Elections

2018 URSU Fall By-Election

Winter 2017 URSU General Election